Monday, September 1, 2008

Bangkok governor elections preparations

The preparations for the Bangkok governor elections is getting into its final phase, now the first candidates have submitted their application and already got their candidacy numbers assigned. The following numbers were drawn.
  1. Mr Kittisak Thirawisit (กิตติศักดิ์ ถิรวิศิษฎ์)
  2. Dr Kriangsak Charoenwongsak (เกรียงศักดิ์ เจริญวงศ์ศักดิ์)
  3. Capt Metha Themchamnan (เมตตา เต็มชำนาญ)
  4. Mr Warawut Thanangkorn (วราวุธ ฐานังกร)
  5. Mr Apirak Kosayodhin (อภิรักษ์ โกษะโยธิน), incumbent governor
  6. Mr Sumet Tanthanasirikul (สุเมธ ตันธนาศิริกุล)
  7. Ms Leena Junjanya (ลีนา จังจรรจา)
  8. Mr Chuwit Kamolvisit (ชูวิทย์ กมลวิศิษฎ์)
  9. Mr Wittaya Junkob (วิทยา จังกอบ)
Out of these, the first eight were actually drawn, as Wittaya registered after the drawing and thus received the next free number. Apparently Prapat Chongsanguan (ประภัสร์ จงสงวน), MRTA governor and the candidate supported by the ruling PPP, hasn't submitted his application yet, but he still has time till Friday when the application period ends.

According to the ABAC poll from mid-August, Apirak has good chances to win a second term in office with 40% of the votes, with another 16% to Natthakorn Devakula (who hasn't registered yet either) and 11% for the controversial Chuwit. The other names listed above are spread between the 10% who picked one of these less-famous contestants. 22% of the voters interviewed said that they haven't decided yet. Yet this poll was taken before the PPP candidate was made public and the PAD started its big protests, so these numbers are likely to change.

The election is scheduled for October 5, yet there's of course the chance that the current turmoil around the PAD protests may cause it to be delayed.

No comments: