Friday, September 12, 2008

Amphoe reassignments in the last century

Map of Thailand with the provincial boundaries as of 1915As a supplement to the earlier post on the creations and abolishments of provinces in the last century, there are also several cases where districts were reassigned to different provinces. But even with this list there's still no complete history of territorial changes of the provinces, as there are cases where single subdistricts were reassigned as well, for example in the creation of Doem Bang district in 1911, which additionally to area from Suphanburi got two subdistricts from each of the provinces Chainat and Singburi as well. There are also several Royal Gazette announcements which reassign single subdistricts or even just several villages between the provinces. When reading the table don't forget that in most cases the districts were much larger at those days, as several new districts were split off from them in the meantime.
  • The three southern districts of Surat Thani - Lamphun (now Ban Na San), Phrasaeng and Phanom - were reassigned from Nakhon Si Thammarat in 1906.
  • Also in 1906 the district Phrasong (nowadays Tha Chana) was moved from Lang Suan to Chaiya, enlarging the present day Surat Thani in the north as well.
  • Also in 1906, Mueang Klaeng (now simply Klaeng) changed from Chanthaburi to Rayong.
  • The district Yi-ngo was reassigned from Sai Buri to Bang Nara (now Narathiwat) in 1909.
  • Umphang (then still named Mae Khlong) was originally part of Uthai Thani, but was reassigned to Kamphaeng Phet in 1911.
  • 1917 the district Chai Buri (now Bueng Kan) was reassigned from Nakhon Phanom to Nong Khai
  • 1919 Chai Badan was reassigned from Phetchabun to Saraburi.
  • 1923 Tha Pla was reassigned from Nan to Uttaradit
  • 1925 Fang was reassigned from Chiang Rai to Chiang Mai
  • 1926 Umphang was finally reassigned to Tak.
  • 1927 Phra Khanong was reassigned from Phra Pradaeng to Phra Nakhon.
  • The district Det Udom and its minor district Phon Ngam, later upgraded and renamed to Buntharik, were reassigned from Khu Khan (now Si Sa Ket) to Ubon Ratchathani in 1928
  • 1931 the district Long was reassigned from Lampang to Phrae.
  • When the province Min Buri was abolished in 1932, Nong Chok was assigned to Chachoengsao. It was however reassigned to Phra Nakhon in 1933.
  • 1937 the district Tha Maka was reassigned from Ratchaburi to Kanchanaburi, only the subdistrict Lat Bua Khao stayed with Ratchaburi and was added to Ban Pong district
  • Chai Badan was reassigned from Saraburi to Lopburi in 1941.
  • 1943 Ban Pong district was reassigned from Ratchaburi to Kanchanaburi, which was undone in 1946.
  • The minor district Tha Song Yang was reassigned from Mae Hong Son to Tak in 1948.
  • 1952/1953 the district Pong was reassigned from Nan to Chiang Rai, except the subdistrict Sa-iat, which was added to Song district, Phrae province.
The above list may not be complete yet, so if I missed any such change please notify me. Especially for the time before the thesaphiban reforms finished and the names of the structures were unified it's quite possible I missed some. The first complete list of districts I have is from 1917, and from that time on I am rather confident I have catched all changes.

No comments: