Friday, July 18, 2008

Regions change in 1948

Regions as of 1949When I wrote on the regions in the 1940s earlier, I omitted one announcement with another change of the provinces contained in the five regions. I just find that one now because it had a slightly different caption - using ปรับปรุง (improve, adjust) instead of เปลี่ยนแปลง (change) and therefore slipped through my previous search in the Royal Gazette database.

The changes were announced on December 31 1948, little bit more than one year after the previous change for the region. The changes mostly concern region 1 and 2, which change back to the outline of 1941 with a western and eastern region. The northern region gets enlarged again with respect to the 1947 outline, also unlike all other outlines, the province Prachuap Khiri Khan has been added to the southern region. Yet the most odd thing is the fact that coastal provinces Samut Songkhram and Samut Sakhon belong to region 2, while the inland provinces directly north all belong to region 1. Thus if the district Bang Khun Thian of Thonburi province like today extended till the coastline, these two provinces became exclaves within the regional outline.

No comments: