Wednesday, May 5, 2010

DOPA entity statistics 2009

DOPA has now published the numbers of the various administrative entities as of December 31 2009.
  • Central administration
    • Provinces (changwat, จังหวัด): 75
    • Districts (amphoe, อำเภอ): 878
    • Subdistricts (tambon, ตำบล): 7,255
    • Villages (muban, หมู่บ้าน): 74,954
  • Local Administration
    • Provincial administration organizations (PAO, องค์การบริหารส่วนจังหวัด): 75
    • Cities (thesaban nakhon, เทศบาลนคร): 23
    • Towns (thesaban mueang, เทศบาลเมือง): 142
    • Subdistrict municipalities (thesaban tambon, เทศบาลตำบล): 1,841
    • Subdistrict (Tambon) administration organizations (TAO or SAO, องค์การบริหารส่วนตำบล): 5,770
  • Special administrative entities: 2 (Bangkok and Pattaya)
No big surprises in these numbers comparing with last year, the numbers for the municipalities are identical with an earlier list from DOLA and just reflect the high number of TAO upgraded to subdistrict municipalities last year. Of course the number of districts increased by one with the new Galyani Vadhana district. The only other number which changed are the administrative villages, and there also only a modest increase by 10. All of these were covered by announcements in the Royal Gazette, one new village in Nan, one in Sakon Nakhon and eight in Surat Thani.

No comments: