Tuesday, May 25, 2010

Province governors transferred from riot provinces

The governors of the four provinces where the province halls have been burned down by rioting red shirts have now been punished as well. As of May 27 they are transferred to inactive posts in the Ministry of Interior, and acting governors were appointed to replace them. The complete list as of dailynews:
  • Udon Thani: Amnat Phokarat (นายอำนาจ ผการัตน์), governor since 2008, to be replaced by deputy governor Wirat Limsuwan (นายวิรัตน์ ลิ้มสุวรรณ)
  • Khon Kaen: Pramot Satcharak (นายปราโมทย์ สัจจะรักษ์), governor since March 1 2009, to be replaced by deputy governor Phayap Chanprasoet (นายพายัพ ชาญประเสริฐ)
  • Ubon Ratchathani: Chuan Sirinanphon (นายชวน ศิรินันท์พร), governor since 2007, to be replaced by MOI general inspector Wichit Chatphaisit (นายวิชิต ชาตไพสิฐ)
  • Mukdahan: Bunsong Techamanisathit (นายบุญส่ง เตชะมณีสถิตย์), governor since October 1 2009, to be replaced by MOI general inspector Chayawit Wosayangkun (นายชาญวิทย์ วสยางกูร)
However, according to Bangkok Post, these reassignments are only temporarily and the governors still have their title - but I doubt that in the next reshuffle in October they will still be in these provinces, maybe they will get downgraded to less prestigious provinces.


Isaan Life said...

and what are they doing to the police who sat and watched it all happen

Andy said...

At least the four provincial police chiefs have been transferred to inactive posts now as well, see this report.