Wednesday, January 7, 2009

Regions defined by DOPA

I mentioned them shortly while presenting the district officers of the year earlier - the list of finalists for that award shows the provinces grouped into 12 regions named Khet (เขต). Not to be confused with the district in Bangkok which are also named Khet; and as the head officers of the Bangkok districts are not appointed by DOPA Bangkok isn't included into the following list anyway.
  • Region 1: Chiang Mai, Tak, Mae Hong Son, Lampang, Lamphun
  • Region 2: Chiang Rai, Nan, Phayao, Phrae, Sukhothai, Uttaradit
  • Region 3: Kamphaeng Phet, Nakhon Sawan, Phichit, Phitsanulok, Phetchabun, Uthai Thani
  • Region 4: Nonthaburi, Nakhon Pathom, Pathum Thani, Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya, Samut Songkhram, Samit Sakhon, Ang Thong
  • Region 5: Chachoengsao, Nakhon Nayok, Prachinburi, Lopburi, Saraburi, Singburi
  • Region 6: Chanthaburi, Chonburi, Trat, Rayong, Samut Prakan, Sa Kaeo
  • Region 7: Kanchanaburi, Chainat, Prachuap Khiri Khan, Phetchaburi, Ratchaburi, Suphanburi
  • Region 8: Nakhon Phanom, Loei, Sakon Nakhon, Nong Khai, Nong Bua Lamphu, Udon Thani
  • Region 9: Khon Kaen, Chaiyaphum, Nakhon Ratchasima, Buriram, Maha Sarakham, Surin
  • Region 10: Kalasin, Mukdahan, Yasothon, Roi Et, Si Sa Ket, Amnat Charoen, Ubon Ratchathani
  • Region 11: Chumphon, Nakhon Si Thammarat, Ranong, Surat Thani, Krabi, Phang Nga, Phuket
  • Region 12: Trang, Phatthalung, Narathiwat, Pattani, Yala, Songkhla and Satun
The 13th entry in the list is a special mention for the outstanding district officer at the southern boundary districts of Yala, Pattani and Narathiwat.

I don't know if these twelve regions are used for other administrative tasks with DOPA as well, or were just created for this district officer award.

No comments: