Monday, January 12, 2009

Results of the Bangkok gubernatorial elections

Yesterday was the election of the governor of Bangkok, the second one within 3 month due to the resignation of Apirak Kosayodhin just two month after being elected for a four year term. There are still no final results, as the votes for Phaya Thai district were not yet counted - a few of the ballot boxes were not sealed corrected and thus a complaint was issued. It will thus take a bit longer than last time to see the final results, but even with a whole district missing the general outcome is already clear.

The numbers as of January 12, 19:35, published on the starting page of the Bangkok city administration
  1. Sukhumbhand Paripatra, 934,602 votes, 44.1%
  2. Yuranan Pamornmontri, 611,669 votes, 25.2%
  3. Nattakorn Devakula, 334,846 votes, 15.8%
  4. Kaewsan Atibhoti, 144,779 votes, 6.8%
  5. Leena Jungjanja, 9,043 votes, 0.4%
What is interesting - the result is quite similar with the one three months ago, only the names of some candidates have changed. The candidate of the Democratic Party won with 44.1% (last time ), the candidate of TRT/PPP/PTP was second with 25.2% (last time also 25.2%), the independent candidate as third with 15.8% (also the same percentage last time), another independent one with 6.8 (last time 12.1%), and the first of the non-notable candidates again Leena, who even gained a little bit since last time (0.4% vs. 0.3%).

As the Democratic Party together with their coalition partners also won most of the by-elections necessary to fill the seats in the national parliament after the banning of the PPP officials, last Sunday was quite a happy day for the Democrats. I can only hope that this will give them the chance to do their work, Thailand needs a stable government now with all the global crisis as well as the self-made tourism crisis.

No comments: