Thursday, September 2, 2010

Local government units renamed

On August 26, three announcements were published in the Royal Gazette, each one about the renaming of one local government unit.
  • TAO Khok Tum (องค์การบริหารส่วนตำบลโคกตูม), Nong Khae district, Saraburi province, has been renamed to Khok Tum-Phon Thong (องค์การบริหารส่วนตำบลโคกตูม-โพนทอง), as the TAO covers both the subdistrict Khok Tum as well as Phon Thong. [Gazette]
  • TAO Ban Paen (องค์การบริหารส่วนตำบลบ้านแป้น), Mueang Lamphun district, Lamphun province, has been renamed to Tha Chiang Thong (องค์การบริหารส่วนตำบลท่าเชียงทอง). This rename avoids confusion with the adjoining subdistrict municipality Ban Paen (เทศบาลตำบลบ้านแป้น) [Gazette].
  • The subdistrict municipality Kayu Boko (เทศบาลตำบลกายูบอเกาะ), Raman district, Yala province, has been renamed to Mueang Raman (เทศบาลตำบลเมืองรามันห์), as it covers the central part of the district Raman. It also avoids confusion with the TAO Kayu Boko (องค์การบริหารส่วนตำบลกายูบอเกาะ). [Gazette]
All three name changes had been decided upon in meeting 23/2010 on April 29 by the board to consider draft laws. Neither the transcript of that board meeting nor the announcements mention which meeting of the board to consider name changes these items were considered, but it must have been meeting 2/2010 on April 23.

No comments: