Thursday, December 4, 2008

Full list of Bangkok governor candidates

The preparations for the second take of the Bangkok gubernatorial elections are still underway despite the ever increasing political chaos in Bangkok. The usual registration phase of one week was cut short by one day as tomorrow is a national holiday - the birthday of HM the King. The elections will be held on January 11.

The following candidates have registered themselves for the election.
  1. Mr. Sumet Tanthanasirikul (สุเมธ ตันธนาศิริกุล), Krung Thep Phatthana Party
  2. MR Sukhumbhand Paripatra (ม.ร.ว.สุขุมพันธุ์ บริพัตร), Democratic Party
  3. Mrs. Leena Jungjanja (ลีนา จังจรรจา)
  4. Mrs. Thoranee Ritthithammarong (ธรณี ฤทธีธรรมรงค์)
  5. Mr. Kongjak Chaidee (กงจักร ใจดี)
  6. Capt. Metha Temchamnarn (เมตตา เต็มชำนาญ), Klummet Tatham Party
  7. Mr. Issara Amornvech (อิสระ อมรเวช)
  8. ML Nattakorn Devakula (ม.ล.ณัฐกรณ์ เทวกุล)
  9. Mr. Witthaya Jangkobpattana (วิทยา จังกอบพัฒนา)
  10. Mr. Yuranan Pamornmontri (ยุรนันท์ ภมรมนตรี), Puea Thai Party
  11. Mr. Thanchai Rungchinrot (ธรรณม์ชัย รุ่งจิรโรจน์)
  12. Mr. Kaewsan Atibhoti (แก้วสรร อติโพธิ)
It seems this time the race will be much more interesting than in the first time, when incumbent governor Apirak Kosayothin was the clear favorite contestant right from the beginning. Yet those few candidates who already failed miserably in the first round, like Leena Jungjanja, will have no chance again this time.

No comments: