Wednesday, October 29, 2008

Leaders of the administrative entities

In my Thai language class we came across the question on how to translate the term "mayor" (actually, the German "Bürgermeister") to Thai. While I suggested simply นายกเทศบาล (nayok thesaban), the dictionary said นายกเทศมนตรี (nayok thesamontri). So this made me create the following list of the names for the leaders of the various administrative entities in Thai and the recommended English translation as far as I found one.
Nayok O.Bo.To.
Central administrative units
Provinceผู้ว่าราชการจังหวัดPhu Wa Ratchakan ChangwatProvince governor
DistrictนายอำเภอNai AmphoeDistrict (chief) officer
Minor districtหัวหน้ากิ่งอำเภอHua Na King AmphoeMinor District (chief) officer
SubdistrictกำนันKamnanSubdistrict headman
Villageผู้ใหญ่บ้านPhu Yai BanVillage headman

Local administrative units
Municipality นายกเทศมนตรีNayok ThesamontriMayor
TAOนายกองค์การบริหารส่วนตำบลPresident of TAO
PAOนายกองค์การบริหารส่วนจังหวัดNayok O.Bo.Cho.Chairman of PAO

No comments: