Monday, October 13, 2008

Aborted district creations

I mentioned them earlier, there are geocodes already assigned for districts which are not yet existing. I am listing those for Phitsanulok below. Unlike that subdistrict geocode, these codes weren't listed in any of the files on the DOPA website.
  • 6510: Sap Phrai Wan (กิ่งอำเภอทรัพย์ไพรวัลย์) or Kaeng Sopha (กิ่งอำเภอแก่งโสภา), split from Wang Thong
  • 6511: Wang Khong (กิ่งอำเภอวงฆ้อง) or Nong Tom (กิ่งอำเภอหนองตม), to be split from Phrom Phiram
  • 6512: Nikhom Nong Kula (กิ่งอำเภอนิคมหนองกุลา) split from Bang Rakam
  • 6513: Wang Nam Khu (กิ่งอำเภอวังน้ำคู้), split from Mueang Phitsanulok
  • 6514: Nakhon Bang Yang (กิ่งอำเภอนครบางยาง), split from Nakhon Thai
An old webboard posting on the website of the provincial administration of Phitsanulok sheds some light on these (and the other 79 such district codes). The posting is titled "Creation of 5 minor districts in Phitsanulok quietly abandoned", and the author asks what happened with the 5 planned minor districts planned before the Baht crisis of 1992 (maybe the author meant the Asian financial crisis of 1997 instead), and says that these were stopped due to budget reasons and other reasons yet unknown to him. Sadly noone answered him with an explanation, but the budget reasons fit with my guess what there were (almost) no new districts and subdistricts since 1997.

No comments: