Monday, October 18, 2010

Various related Thai stamp

The last months three different sets of stamps have been released by the Thai Post, which are all related with the topics I cover on this blog. Most notable the fourth series of provincial seals, which I nearly missed as sadly the blog to feature the first day covers went silent in February.

The provincial seal stamps were release on July 5 already, and like the ones before another 10 provinces are covered alphabetically. This time the provinces Lop Buri, Lampang, Lamphun, Loei, Si Sa Ket, Sakon Nakhon, Songkhla, Satun, Samut Prakan and Samut Songkhram have their seal on a 3 Baht stamp now, all together printed on one sheet. Now 60 of the provinces are covered (the first series covered 20 provinces), thus there is only one more full sheet to be published next year, and then another one with the 6 (or maybe by then 7) remaining seals. I could not find yet the release dates for these, nor know how the final set will be done - my suggestion to make it feature 10 emblems would be to add the seals of the former provinces Thonburi and Phra Nakhon, and then as the final emblem the national symbol Garuda.

Stamp on Election Commission of ThailandOn June 9 a stamp to commemorate the Election Commission of Thailand was issued. The Election Commission has become a very important player in Thai politics since it was introduced 10 years ago. The stamp shows a ballot box, and as the symbol of Thai democracy the central part of the Democracy Monument - the constitution on two ritual offering trays. I only noticed this stamp when it was announced in the Royal Gazette, interestingly a total of 4 months after the sale started.

The third stamp is featuring one of the national symbols of Thailand, the Ratchapruek flower. It is released together with a stamp showing the Thai flag. Again, I noticed this one by the Gazette announcement.

No comments: