Wednesday, January 23, 2008

Amphoe in Monthon Krung Thep

When I found the Royal Gazette announcement about the districts in 1917, it sadly did not contain the Monthon Krung Thep, at that one at that time was not under the Ministry of the Interior but the Ministry of Urban Affairs. I now was googeling to identify the district which was renamed in 1911 from Doem Bang Kao to Ban Chian (it's Hankha in Chainat) together with the creation of the district Doem Bang, and nearly the only hit was this thread at the Thai webforum It starts with exactly that list I was missing earlier, but as usual it adds something odd as well. It seems that there were more provinces than I knew before - both Phra Nakhon and Thonburi are split in several provinces, Phra Nakhon Nuea, Phra Nakhon Klang and Phra Nakhon Tai (northern, central and southern Phra Nakhon) and Thonburi Nuea and Thonburi Tai (northern and southern Thonburi). I have never heard about those before, I always thought there were just the two province Phra Nakhon and Thonburi until they were merged into Bangkok in 1971. And there are nearly no Google hits for these province names, and almost nothing in the Royal Gazette as well. Anyone know when these 5 provinces were created, and when they were merged into the two provinces?

The thread contains a lot more histories of other districts, have to look through it much more, and maybe I will find further previously unknown facts. But first I will update the XML with these district lists, should be ready shortly after this post.

1 comment:

Rikker said...

Your interest in this inspire me to learn more about the history of these divisions, but for now I'm limited to what I can find on the web.

I did some searching in Thai of the divisions of mentioned and found this info. It's an excerpt from a Ministry of Education document, unfortunately with no date. I understand it to mean that they were rearranging the school districts to match new (or relatively new) province boundaries.

I've translated it into English, but transcribed the original Thai government unit names:

--Begin quote---
On account that it pleases His Majesty to expand Krung Thep Mahanakhon, and reassign Mueang Pathum Thani and Mueang Thanyaburi to Monthon Krung Kao [i.e. Ayutthaya], [the Ministry of Education] hereby redefines the school districts [khwaeng sueksaa] of Monthon Krung Thep into 9 districts, in order to correspond to the following areas:

1. Changwat Phra Nakhon Nuea, comprised of amphoe Bang Khun Phrom, Nang Loeng, Sam Sen, Dusit, Bang Sue, Prachae Chin, Phaya Thai, Bang Khen.

2. Changwat Phra Nakhon Klang, comprised of amphoe Phra Ratcha Wang, Phahurat, Chana Songkhram, Samran Rat.

3. ChangwatPhra Nakhon Tai, comprised of amphoe Chakrawat, Sam Yot, Samphanthawong, Sam Yaek, Pom Prap Satru Phai, Bang Rak, Sathon, Pathum Wan, Ban Thawai, Bang Kapi.

4. ChangwatThonburi Nuea, comprised of amphoe Hongsaram, Amarin, Bang Phlat, Taling Chan.

5. ChangwatThonburi Tai, comprised of amphoe Buppharam, Ratcha Kharue, Bukkhalo, Bang Khun Thien, Nong Khaem, Phasi Charoen, Rat Burana Lang.

6. ChangwatNonthaburi, comprised of amphoe Nonthaburi, Pak Kret, Bang Yai, Bang Bua Thong.

7. ChangwatMinburi, comprised of amphoe Minburi, Nong Chok, Saen Saep, Chian Dap.

8. ChangwatPhra Pradaeng, comprised of amphoe Phra Pradaeng, Phra Khanong.

9. ChangwatSamut Prakan, comprised of amphoe Samut Prakan, Bang Phli, Bang Hia
---End quote---

(From History of the Ministry of Education 1892-1964, ประวัติกระทรวงศึกษาธิการ 2435-2507.)

I hope that's helpful. I'll try to find out more information for you.