Thursday, June 13, 2013

Area transfer in Mae Tuen, Li, Lamphun

Today, the transfer of parts of the TAO Wiang Kaeo (องค์การบริหารส่วนตำบลเวียงแก้ว) to the subdistrict municipality Mae Tuen (เทศบาลตำบลแม่ตืน) was announced in the Royal Gazette, as usual for these changes in two separate announcements, one for the TAO [Gazette] and one for municipality [Gazette] which then also includes a map with the new boundaries. The change was discussed in the March 13 meeting of board 2 responsible for draft laws in the Ministry of Interior, and the meeting transcript contain some more details on this change.

Mae Tuen and Wiang Kaeo share the subdistrict Mae Tuen - until 2011 the TAO was also named Mae Tuen [Gazette] - and when the sanitary district Mae Tuen was created in 1992 [Gazette] it only covered the most densely populated part of Ban Mae Tuen. With this change parts of the administrative villages 3, 11, 12 and 16 are transferred to the municipality, which now covers the whole northern part of the subdistrict. However, I cannot see whether the municipality now covers these villages completely, or they still are shared between TAO and municipality - that may show in the forthcoming local election for Wiang Kaeo to be held in October this year. If the council gets reduced in size from the 32 councilors it has today (there are 17 Muban, but Mu 3 has no population in the area covered by the TAO) to 26, then its likely that the whole Muban were transferred.